Civil War | Historic Site
St. Marks Episcopal Church
205 West Main Street
Raymond, MS 39056
Organized in 1837 and built in 1854, St. Marks is the only antebellum church remaining in Raymond. After the Battle of Raymond, it was taken by the Union army and used for a hospital. Cotton was spread on the floors of the sanctuary for the wounded. Bloodstains remain visible today.
Driving Tour of Historic Raymond
Raymond, Mississippi | This scenic and historic driving tour features three structures that stand as a reminder of the Battle of Raymond, fought...
Raymond, Mississippi | Built in 1857-59, the courthouse was used as a hospital for Confederate wounded and later occupied by Union troops following...
Raymond, Mississippi | This cemetery contains graves of soldiers mortally wounded in the Battle of Raymond, fought May 12, 1863.