Raymond, MS 39154
Weldon Brothers built Hinds County Courthouse in 1857-59 with skilled slave labor. Following the Battle of Raymond, Union troops occupied the town and removed Confederate flags from the cupola. They hoisted the Union flag, singing the chorus for "The Battle Cry of Freedom (The Union Forever)." The courthouse was used as a hospital for Confederate wounded.
St. Marks Episcopal Church
Raymond, Mississippi | Organized in 1837 and built in 1854, St. Marks is the only antebellum church remaining in Raymond.
Driving Tour of Historic Raymond
Raymond, Mississippi | This scenic and historic driving tour features three structures that stand as a reminder of the Battle of Raymond, fought...
Raymond, Mississippi | This cemetery contains graves of soldiers mortally wounded in the Battle of Raymond, fought May 12, 1863.