Glendale - Then and Now

American Battlefield Trust’s map of land preserved at the Battle of Glendale

On the afternoon of June 30, 1862, Maj. Gens. James Longstreet and A. P. Hill launched attacks north and south of the Long Bridge Road toward the V Corps Pennsylvania Reserves division of Brig. Gen. George A. McCall. The II Corps division of Brig. Gen. John Sedgwick reinforced McCall, as did the III Corps divisions of Brig. Gens. Phil Kearny and Joseph Hooker. Longstreet and Hill briefly broke the Federal line and captured McCall. The Confederates penetrated nearly to the Frayser farm (near the home owned by R. H. Nelson) but were beaten back. By dusk, the Federals held the Willis Church Road, which led south to the remainder of the Union army. That night, the Yankees slipped away to another defensive position on Malvern Hill.

Prior to 1987, only two small parcels of the Glendale battlefield had been preserved, consisting mainly of the Glendale National Cemetery. The American Battlefield Trust and its partners have worked closely with local landowners to reclaim this crucial battlefield piece by piece. According to historian Robert E. L. Krick the Glendale battlefield is now “a preservation gem,” with 679 acres saved.

Learn More: The Battle of Glendale


Phase Three of Gaines’ Mill-Cold Harbor Saved Forever Campaign
Please help us at we begin working on Phase Three to save 45 acres that we’re calling “The Juncture at Griffin’s Woods” along with 12 additional acres...