Ariel Skelley

America 250

Preparing for the Largest Commemoration in U.S. History

In a few short years, Americans will come together for the 250th anniversary of the nation’s founding. The commemoration provides us with an unparalleled opportunity to celebrate the democratic ideals enshrined in the Declaration of Independence – principles that continue to guide us as a country and inspire people throughout the world.

Ten years before America’s 250th anniversary in 2026, Congress unanimously passed the United States Semiquincentennial Commission Act of 2016, signed as Public Law 114-196 on July 22, 2016. 

In May 2018, the American Battlefield Trust was chosen by the Department of the Interior to serve as the official nonprofit partner, or administrative secretariat, of the U.S. Semiquincentennial Commission. The Trust and the Commission look forward to engaging the nation – and the world – in America’s Semiquincentennial and leaving a lasting legacy. Join us on a journey 250 years in the making.

U.S. Semiquincentennial Commissioners

United States Senators 

The Hon. Bob Casey, Pennsylvania 
The Hon. Tom Cotton, Arkansas 
The Hon. Jeanne Shaheen, New Hampshire 
The Hon. Pat Toomey, Pennsylvania 

United States Representatives 

The Hon. Robert Aderholt, Alabama (4th District)
The Hon. Dwight Evans, Pennsylvania (3rd District)
The Hon. Bonnie Waston Coleman, New Jersey (12th District)

Private Citizens 

Robert Brady, Pennsylvania
David L. Cohen, Pennsylvania
Val Crofts, Wisconsin
Daniel M. DiLella, Pennsylvania, Chairman
Cathy Gillespie, Virginia
Noah Griffin, California
Amy Gutmann, Ph.D., Pennsylvania
Andrew Hohns, Ph.D., Pennsylvania 
Jim Koch, Massachusetts 
Lucas Morel, Ph.D., Virginia
Wilfred M. McClay, Ph.D., Oklahoma
Rosie Rios, California
James L. Swanson, Washington, D.C.
Richard Trumka, Maryland
Tom Walker, Alabama
Lynn Young, Texas

Ex Officio Members 

Attorney General Merrick Garland (confirmed March 2021)
Secretary of the Interior Deb Haaland (confirmed March 2021)
Secretary of State Antony J. Blinken (confirmed January 2021)
Secretary of Defense Lloyd Austin (confirmed January 2021)
Secretary of Education Miguel Cardona (confirmed March 2021)
Librarian of Congress Carla Hayden, PhD
Secretary of the Smithsonian Institution Lonnie Bunch III
Archivist of the United States David Ferriero
Director of the Institute of Museum & Library Services Crosby Kemper III
Chairman of the National Endowment for the Arts Ann Eilers (acting)
Chairman of the National Endowment for the Humanities Adam Wolfson (acting)

Commission Leadership

Daniel M. DiLella, Chairman
Tom Walker, Vice Chairman
Rosie Rios, Treasurer

Lynn Young, Secretary
Frank Giordano, Executive Director
Tony Rucci, America 250 President

American Battlefield Trust Contacts

Jim Campi
Chief Policy and Communications Officer
American Battlefield Trust
Phone: 202-367-1861 x7205

We want to hear from you! 

Please share your thoughts and comments by emailing