Civil War  |  News

Interior Deputy Secretary to Join Civil War Trust for Preservation Celebration at Antietam

News Conference Scheduled for September 30 at 10 a.m.

(Sharpsburg, Md.) - On Wednesday, September 30, Deputy Secretary of the Interior Mike Connor will join the Civil War Trust and other conservation leaders at Antietam National Battlefield (NB) to announce recent preservation achievements on the historic battleground. The battle of Antietam, fought September 17, 1862, resulted in the bloodiest day of combat in American history.

The news conference will begin at 10:00 a.m. near the Antietam NB visitor center. Joining Deputy Secretary Connor at the event will be Antietam NB Superintendent Susan Trail, Civil War Trust Chairman Emeritus John L. Nau, III, and Trust President James Lighthizer.

Following remarks, attendees will have an opportunity to tour battlefield properties recently preserved by the Trust. Refreshments will be available during and after the event.

WHAT: Battlefield Preservation Announcement at Antietam National Battlefield

WHO: Deputy Secretary of the Interior Mike Connor; Antietam National Battlefield Superintendent Susan Trail; and Civil War Trust officials

WHEN: Wednesday, Sept. 30 at 10:00 a.m. ET

WHERE: Antietam National Battlefield, 5831 Dunker Church Rd., Sharpsburg, MD

The Civil War Trust is America's premier nonprofit battlefield preservation organization. Although primarily focused on the protection of Civil War battlefields, through its Campaign 1776 initiative, the Trust also seeks to save the battlefields connected to the Revolutionary War and War of 1812. To date, the Trust has preserved almost 41,000 acres of battlefield land in 20 states, including nearly 300 acres at Antietam.


The Civil War Preservation Trust became the Civil War Trust in January 2011; the Civil War Trust became a division of the American Battlefield Trust in May 2018. Campaign 1776 was created in 2014 as an initiative of the Civil War Trust; in May 2018 it became the Revolutionary War Trust, a division of the American Battlefield Trust.